Illinois Concealed Carry Permit CLASSES NOW BEING SCHEDULED! Tombstone Gun Range & Training Center's CCW Curriculum has been APPROVED! Register TODAY!
Call the Range (618-889-4238) or stop by to schedule your class and register. Classes are filling up fast.
Frequently Asked Questions;
Qualifications for Concealed Carry License:
At least 21 years of age.l
Valid FOID Card, or meets the requirements for a FOID Card.
Has completed firearms training.
Has not been convicted or found guilty in this state or in any other state of:Two or more DUI violations within the 5 years preceding the date of the license application.A misdemeanor involving the use or threat of physical force or violence to any person within the 5 years preceding the date of the license application.Is not the subject of a pending arrest warrant, prosecution, or proceeding for an offense or action that could lead to disqualification to own or possess a firearm.
Has not been in residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the 5 years immediately preceding the date of the license application.l
A set of fingerprints with your application (this is optional).
Note: No reciprocity or recognition of licenses or permits issued by other states.
Applicants must complete 16 hours of training, including firearm safety, principles of marksmanship, care and cleaning of firearms, and instruction on lawful and appropriate interaction with law enforcement while carrying or transporting a firearm.
Training requirement shall include live fire exercise of at least 30 rounds with at least 70% accuracy.
Courses to be approved and instructors certified by Illinois State Police (ISP).l Up to 8 hours of previously completed training recognized by ISP will count towards the 16-hour requirement. Training received in the military by active, retired, or honorably discharged U.S. Armed Services member counts toward the training requirement. Renewal application requires 3 hours of training, plus re-qualification on the firing range.Concealed Carry
New license: $150 for 5 years.
Replace lost or stolen license, or change of address: $75.
ISP may charge additional fee for conducting background checks not to exceed the actual cost.
Duty to Inform:
If you’re stopped by a law enforcement officer and are carrying a concealed weapon, you must disclose that you are carrying a firearm if asked. You must also present the license upon the request of the officer and identify the location of the concealed firearm.
Property under the control of an elementary or secondary school.
Property under the control of a pre-school or childcare facility.
Government facilities (with the exception of DNR-regulated facilities that allow firearms).
Colleges and universities.
Stadiums, arenas, sporting events.
Museums and zoos.
Buildings under control of a unit of local government.
Property under control of an adult or juvenile detention or correctional institution, prison, or jail.
Property under control of a public or private hospital, mental health facility, or nursing home.
Public transportation (buses, trains, and stations).
Property under control of an establishment that serves alcohol, if more than 50% of the establishment’s gross receipts come from the sale of alcohol.
Any public gathering requiring the issuance of a permit from the unit of local government.
Any building or property that has been issued a special event liquor license during the time designated for the sale of alcohol by the special event liquor license.
Any area where firearms are prohibited under federal law.
Any private property designated by the owner as a no-carry zone. They must post a 4”x6” sign clearly and conspicuously at the entrance of the property notifying licensees that the carrying of concealed firearms is prohibited on the premises.
For More Informationl Visit the Illinois State Police website at http://www.isp.state.il.us/firearms/ccw/